The Cartoonist Studio Prize 2013 Call for Entries

Many of you should really consider entering this.

The Slate Book Review and the Center for Cartoon Studies are proud to announce the second annual Cartoonist Studio Prize!

Each year the Cartoonist Studio Prize will be awarded to work that exemplifies excellence in cartooning. (Last year’s winners: Chris Ware and Noelle Stevenson.) The creators of two exceptional comics will be awarded $1,000 each. In addition, this year award sponsor Copic is providing each winner with $250 of art supplies. Winners will be selected by Slate Book Review editor Dan Kois, the faculty and students of the Center for Cartoon Studies, and a distinguished guest judge. This year’s guest judge will be Christopher Butcher of the world-famous comic book store the Beguiling and co-founder of the Toronto Comic Arts Festival.

The two award categories for the Cartoonist Studio Prize are Graphic Novel of the Year and Web Comic of the Year. Finalists for each category will be announced Feb. 1, 2014. The two winning comics will be announced March 1, 2014.

Eligible Graphic Novels must be written in (or translated into) English, published between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31 of 2013. To submit a comic for consideration, click here. Eligible Web Comics must be written in (or translated into) English, published online between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31 of 2013. Creators or publishers may submit a Web comic for consideration by clicking here.

Submissions in both categories must be received by Dec. 31. Currently enrolled CCS students are not eligible for the award. No creator may submit more than one work in either category. The judging panel reserves the right to consider work that was not officially submitted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.