Archive for the 'awards' Category

Upcoming Cartooning Awards

Here is a list of upcoming cartooning awards, courtesty of the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists.

No comments

Ken Avidor and Kevin Cannon Both Win the Gold in The Society of Professional Journalists Page One Awards

Big congratulations to Conspirators Ken Avidor and Kevin Cannon on both winning a gold in the Society of Professional Journalists Page One Awards. Ken won a gold (with Steve Kaplan) for best commissioned illustration for his piece The 2008 Republican National Convention: A Graphic Novelette. Kevin won a gold for best Editorial Page Cartoon for his piece Xcape from Xcel (done for the City Pages Comix Issue last year). Nice work, fellas!

Magazine – Story, Design and Photography: Best commissioned illustration — LESS than 50K
First Place
The 2008 Republican National Convention: A Graphic Novelette
Ken Avidor/Steve Kaplan – Minnesota Law & Politics
More “graphic” than “novelette,” Avidor and Kaplan do a nice job summing up the RNC in a format that gives the reader the gist of the event far more efficiently than paragraphs of prose would do. Well done.

Newspaper – Editorial and Opinion: Editorial page cartoon — 50K+
First Place
Xcape from Xcel
Kevin Cannon – City Pages
This is not a “get it at a glance” editorial cartoon. The detail and thought that went into it took some time to appreciate. The political faces are well done. Just the idea of politics as a game gives this another level of meaning. We identify with “electrocuted while punching a TV”!

Read more at the Big Time Attic Blog here.

1 comment

Seven Days Left to Submit Mini-Comics for the 2008 Isotope Award for Excellence in Mini-Comics

Heidi MacDonald at The Beat has the info.

No comments

Submit Your Minis to the 2008 Isotope Award for Excellence in Mini-Comics

Submissions Open for the 2008 Isotope Award for Excellence in Mini-Comics

SAN FRANCISCO (September 10th, 2008) San Francisco comics retailer James Sime, proprietor of Isotope – the comic book lounge, announced today that submissions for the 2008 Isotope Award for Excellence in Mini-Comics will be accepted until October 24th at midnight. “There is honestly nothing that makes me happier each year than to get the opportunity to help spotlight a creator who is toiling in the underground making something wonderful,” said Sime, “And I know that many of you out there are hand-crafting some mini-comics brilliance, let us help share that work with the world!”

The Isotope Award for Excellence in Mini-Comics has been the first step in launching the careers of previous award-winners including Eisner-nominated Josh Cotter (SKYSCRAPERS OF THE MIDWEST) and Danica Novgorodoff (SLOW STORM), as well as, Daniel Merlin Goodbrey (THE LAST SANE COWBOY), Rob Osborne (1000 STEPS TO WORLD DOMINATION), and Max Riffner (QUICK STEP).

The five judges for the Isotope Award represent various aspects of the comic industry including creators, retailers, and press. This year’s judges are:

Josh Cotter – 2004 winner of the Isotope Award for his mini-comic, SKYSCRAPERS OF THE MIDWEST. This Eisner-nominated series has recently been collected in a beautiful hardcover edition by AdHouse Books.

Jason McNamara – Xeric award winning author of FIRST MOON, CONTINUITY, and the recently-released THE MARTIAN CONFEDERACY.

Johanna Draper Carlson – Publishers Weekly writer, and the brilliant mind behind Comics Worth Reading. Johanna’s open-minded reviews and enthusiastic reporting set the bar for commentary throughout the industry.

Kirsten Baldock – The Isotope’s Special Projects Director. Kirsten is also a librarian, bartender, and the author of the SMOKE AND GUNS graphic novel.

James Sime – Proprietor of Isotope – the comic book lounge in San Francisco.

To enter this competition, send five copies of your mini-comic to Isotope’s address (326 Fell St. San Francisco, CA 94102) before October 24th deadline. The award will be given out at the grand ceremony during APE AFTERMATH at the Isotope in conjunction with San Francisco’s ALTERNATIVE PRESS EXPO. Because of the nature of this award, the winner will be contacted in advance and must be present at the Isotope at 9 PM on Saturday, November 1st for the award presentation ceremony.

For more information contact the Isotope at (415) 621-6543 or at isotopeaward at

Above info copied from here.

No comments

Kevin Cannon Nominated for an AltWeekly Award

Not satisfied with merely getting a bunch fantastic press, Kevin Cannon just went and got nominated for quite an award for this stunning piece of work:

Kevin says:

I’m thrilled to announce that the “Twin Cities Rock Atlas” has been nominated for a 2008 AltWeekly Award in the category of “Innovation.”

The Rock Atlas originally appeared in the 11/19/07 edition of City Pages, the Twin Cities’ big weekly alternative paper. The Atlas was written by Peter S. Scholtes and art directed by Nick Vlcek.

Read more on the Big Time Attic blog here.

The award is for innovation. I pity the newsweekly editors around the world who want to do something like this and go looking for someone to give them that “Barton Fink feeling.”

“Can’t you just apply the Kevin Cannon filter in Photoshop?”

No comments

« Previous Page